All Topics / Value Adding / Is next year going to be a good time to build houses ?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of mark76gmark76g
    Participant
    @mark76g

Hi,

Ive been dabling in property for the last 4 years. Ive made some modest profits renovating and re-selling some small appartments.

I was thinking about moving onto a bigger project next year and building a suburban house.

Im familar with property markets in South East Queensland so I'd look there first but ultimatley ld like to build where the highest margins are.

Im a bit unsure about the way the property markets are heading next year.

On the one hand peoples borrowing power has been cut and unemployment is on the up but on the other the government is expanding the money supply with future fund hand outs, grants and interest rate cuts.

I think the days if capital growth are long gone but the whole point of building is to profit from value add. If the land and house can be puchased and build cheaper than the current market price then I win.

Providing of course there is sombody to sell to at the end. 

There are many notable economists predicting up to a %40 crash in the Australian property market . Marc Faber who predicted the 1987 crash the 1997 asian finacial crisis and the current credit crunch was on late line a month ago predicting a crash.

Australia is still the only developed country in the world were the property market has not crashed yet and still maintains 7-10x avereage earnings for a house.

Then theres the issue of inflation. If the government keep giving out money the way it did this month the money supply is going to expand much fast than the amount of real goods.

Its going to punsh everybody who has been responisble and saved up by making their dollars worth less.